IN-PROGRESS

There’s something great about slow looping video or barely moving images. They get called Cinemagraphs. I’m not sure that’s a good title but hey that’s what we have. The subtle ones are magical. I think this one is the best I’ve seen, essentially a photo, but just a little touch more.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-20353-1330034172-11 (1)

They seemed to only get used on some more forward thinking iPad magazine applications and the like, or of course all over Tumblrs. Visual images in digital scenarios are still treated like print images and the whole area I feel is not getting the attention it deserves. Cinemagram has some great examples.

I respond differently to moving images than still ones and while I guessing most other people do as well, I’m not sure we know why. I’d love to learn what different regions of our brains are fired by video opposed to still images.  I’m also sure that people have studied this, I just haven’t found it yet.

It’s almost as if photographs are capturing a moment and cinemagraphs are capturing moments. Looking at a picture of a tomato you can half imagine yourself there in front of it but seeing a cinemagraph of water trickling over a tomato you can imagine reaching out a taking a bite, it conjures the environment and takes it that crucial little extra step.

Here’s a casual attempt while on holiday in the Canary Islands in 2012.

bridge

And here’s one I did for Vine when it launched.

newsmiley

There’s something about the elements that work well. Fire, water, wind. Again reminding one of an environment seems a crucial element for lasting effect, or reminding one of a common scene.

flame3

 

 

apple